Gluten Free Zucchini and Tomato Pasta + Cook Smarts

Hello friends!

How was everyones Wednesday?

Mine was packed with…

  • Working
  • Getting in a 3.5 mile run {last mile I did pick-ups for .10 and walked .10}
  • Run group for the 5k 
  • Finishing the chair {More on this later}
  • Making an awesome dinner!

Last night, if you follow me on Instagram you would have seen the following picture

Screen Shot 2014-05-07 at 9.54.27 PM

I am not a food blogger for multiple reasons, but I do love to cook and I was contacted by Cook Smarts a few months ago to try out their meal plans. I jumped at the chance. With B’s crazy schedule and my crazy schedule we always had a hard time coming up with meals to cook, and those meals being gluten free.

Screen Shot 2014-05-07 at 10.04.44 PM

 

We are LOVING Cook Smarts so much right now and really loving how easy the meals are to make and to prepare. The dish above was made in less than 20 minutes! The other thing I am really loving about Cooks Smarts is the way I can sub things and change up the recipe.

If I am given an idea on something I am more than able to then take that idea and put a spin on it, and that is just what I did last night. The dinner was a originally a Pesto Pasta with Peas. Which sounded amazing and I had everything on hand besides the walnuts {forgot to pick them up!} so I used what I had in the fridge and cupboard and went along with the original recipe and that is how I came up with Gluten Free Zucchini and Tomato Pasta!

Gluten Free Zucchini and Tomato Pasta

~Originally adapted from Pesto Pasta with Peas

  • 16 oz gluten free pasta {I used the Aldi version, any type will do}
  • 1 can of organic diced tomatoes
  • 3 small zucchinis
  • 1 tbsp garlic
  • 1/4 cup parmesan cheese
  • 4 leaves of basil
  • Salt and pepper to taste

1. Chop up the zucchini into 1/2 inch slices and add to a heated pan with some cooking spray. Next add the garlic and salt and pepper.

2. Get the water boiling for the pasta and cook pasta according to directions.

3. Once the zucchini is soft add the can of diced tomatoes and bring to a boil and simmer for about 5 minutes.

4. Once the sauce is done and the pasta, add to a serving dish and top with sprigs of basil and parmesan!

Enjoy!

Typically this does not happen, where I change up the meal. Last night however, I was so tired from work I needed to do quick and not worry about making pesto!

Your Turn! 

Do you use a meal plan like Cook Smart? Or would be interested? 

Anyone else see the gluten free food at Aldi!? 

*I was given a free 3 month trial to use Cooks Smarts, but all opinions are my own!!*

6 thoughts on “Gluten Free Zucchini and Tomato Pasta + Cook Smarts

  1. Pingback: I Lost My Words! |

  2. Pingback: Hello There!! |

Leave a Comment

