Effective Running Habits

TGIF!

I hope you  have some great plans for the weekend! B and I are both working all day Saturday and  ending with weekend with some Pottery Barn outlet shopping! Dinners will probably include some Chipotle and of course some of these!

Yesterday when I was scrolling through my Facebook feed and came across this article.

Seven Habits of Highly Effective Runners and Eaters

I found the whole article to be really great in general and I felt I was head nodding a lot as I was reading {which is always a good sign!} I thought it would be fun to go through the list and see how I follow through compared to their article. Feel free to join along!

1. Create a support network : When I lived in Columbus I was in a running group which had some amazing athletes. Once I moved to Dayton and started working at the store I started to meet even more great athletes and now have a really great group of friends who love to be active!

I trained with a bunch of people for this race!

I trained with a bunch of people for this race!

2. Set goals: Everyday I make a goal, if it is dealing with nutrition or running or life. I am making goals, and rewarding myself when I complete those goals. The rewards make me keep making those goals!

images

3. Keep track: I post everyday on here and I typically mention it on the blog!

Screen Shot 2014-02-20 at 8.52.49 PM

4. Schedule your runs: If I am working the morning I know I will be running in the evening and if I am working the night I run in the morning. By telling myself this I am so less likely to back out!

5. Have reasonable expectations: I am still working on this! I want to be able to tell myself, “it is okay to have a bad run or a not so hot workout.” I work on this every day!

6. Stay consistent: Each week I am hitting between 30-35 miles. Unless I am injured, I stay pretty much the same week to week. This really helps me accomplish my goals for running and working out. I also pretty much eat the same thing day in and day out. For some this might be boring, but for me, I know it makes me the best athlete.

Wholesome food, day in and day out!

Wholesome food, day in and day out!

7. See the value: I see my results. When I put in the speed workout and get a PR, I see the result and I see the value in speed work. Same with eating, I see how my body responds and I see how valuable this is to me!

PR'ing at a race is the best feeling!

PR’ing at a race is the best feeling!

I hope you all have a great Friday! I will be back on Saturday with a fun workout!

Your Turn!

Did you have 7 out of 7? 

What is the hardest/easiest for you? 

4 thoughts on “Effective Running Habits

  1. #1 is really important. if you don’t have that support, it’s easy to fall off track. i keep track via dailymile, too, and it’s also a great motivator when you see others post their runs.

Leave a Comment

