Walt Disney World Resorts

Gooood Morning!

Man, I am feeling really great this morning! I have had my coffee, a good morning stretch and only 1 day left of work stands between me and Florida!! B and I are beyond pumped and so ready to get to some warm weather.

Last night, laying in bed not able to fall asleep because I was thinking of the millions of things I have to do today, I came up with a blog post. I know I have some Disney fans who read and I think they will appreciate this post!

I have decided to start this Disney series on the blog, every so often I will highlight something I enjoy about Disney. Today I decided to highlight hotels. I know Walt Disney World is expensive but staying on property is so worth the cost and the time for your vacation. It also just completes the whole Disney experience, waking up to Mickey waffles and catching the buses to take you to the parks those days just add so much more magic!

I have never stayed off property so I can’t say how great those locations are but if you do have some insight I would love to know more!

Growing up we went to Disney at least once a year, always staying at Disney resort, I have realized some of the resorts are better than others, but honestly any of the resorts are awesome! So I present to you…

My Top 5 Walt Disney World Resorts!
*This list only includes the ones I have personally stayed at*

1. The Grand Floridian 

grand-floridian-resort-and-spa-gallery00

 

(Source)

grand-floridian-resort-and-spa-gallery02

 

(Source)

DSC01560

 

2. Polynesian Resort

DSC01558

3. Contemporary Resort  

DSC02774

contemporary-resort-gallery04

 

(Source)

These I would have to say would be my top 3 resorts. Yes you are paying a lot but the convenience is undeniable. You have a monorail to both Magic Kingdom and EPCOT (perfect if you have little kids) and if you don’t want to take the Monorail to Magic Kingdom you can walk or take a boat!

All of the Disney resorts, like I said, give you that extra Disney magic, but if you are able to stay at one of these resorts they go above and beyond the typical lodging experience.

If you stay at the Grand Floridian you must check out 1900 Park Fare. This is one of those restaurants that we would always go to no matter if we were staying at the Grand Floridian or not, it is the best of the best for character dinning. If you have little girls they will love seeing Cinderella and her group of friends for dinner or if you would prefer a breakfast you would be able to meet Alice in Wonderland, Mary Poppins, Tigger, The Mad Hatter and Winnie the Pooh!

DSC00620
DSC00627

If you are staying at the Polynesian make sure to check out Kona Cafe and order the fruit plater or the Big Kahuna! B and I always try to eat here even if we are going for a quick trip. So good!

DSC02772

Screen shot 2010-09-04 at 7.20.53 AM

 

4. Yacht and Beach Club

beach-club-resort-gallery00

beach-club-resort-gallery02

beach-club-resort-gallery05-sq

 

(Source x3)

This is by far one of my favorites (when B and I were planning our wedding we almost got married at this resort!). The whole resort just gives off a vibe of class and elegance and those are two things B and I really look for in hotels when we are traveling.

We also love this resort because it is right next to EPCOT (our favorite park!), less than a mile walk to Studios, and right across from the Boardwalk. This resort offers a lot! They have an amazing all you can eat crab buffet (Cape May Cafe), a huge pool which has sand on the bottom, and the most adorable ice cream parlor (Beaches & Cream Soda Shop).

Highly recommend this resort!

DSC02737

DSC02740

Honeymoon dessert!

5. Port Orleans-Riverside

B and I stayed here for our honeymoon and growing up we stayed here often. This resort is so nice! It has a huge lagoon and a huge dinning hall which is great for breakfast. The feel of the resort is very laid back and just a nice southern feel. This resort is pretty close to Downtown Disney and is a quick bus ride to all the other parks and resorts. Great place for families to stay or if you want a romanic southern stay! 🙂

Check out my honeymoon page for more details on the Riverside resort.

port-orleans-resort-riverside-gallery00

 

(Source) 

DSC02301

DSC02302

DSC02303

port-orleans-resort-riverside-gallery04

 

(Source)

For this trip we are staying at new hotel that neither of has stayed at, Disney’s Coronado Springs Resort.

 

coronado-springs-resort-gallery00

 

(Source)

I am really pumped for this new experience and can’t wait to see all the cool amenities and restaurants! 

This was just a brief overview of the hotels and their are many many many more details about each of the resorts but I just wanted to highlight the things that I enjoy about each!

Your Turn 

Have you ever stayed at a Disney resort? Which one!? 

Have you ever stayed at Coronado? Any tips? 

 

4 thoughts on “Walt Disney World Resorts

  1. My list would definitely mimic yours! The GF is my all time favorite as well! Glad you enjoyed the Poly as we will be staying there on our trip in Feb! I have never stayed at Beach club or Yacht club but I almost got married there too (but eventually we changed to the wedding pavilion because we wanted an indoor location)! POR is also a favorite. I did like the Boardwalk Inn but I didn’t like the fact that they didn’t have a food court or quick dining location unless you walked out to the Boardwalk. I also like OKW. I have stayed at Coronado Springs for a quick trip! The rooms seem to have more modern furnishings, the grounds are nice and I love the food court ( one of the best on Disney property I think). You will like it! Enjoy your stay!

    • That is great! I am so glad you liked you the Coronado! The Poly is awesome!! After your February trip you will have to stay at the Yacht/Beach Club, it is just an amazing resort, it just screams Disney!!

Leave a Comment

