How I Eat and Why its So Boring!

Good Morning!

Today feels like it is going to be a great day! We had a huge storm yesterday (big surprise, it has rained for 17 days in a row!) and it really cooled down the air. I love humidity and hot weather, but it was nice this morning sipping my tea on the porch with a chill in the air!

When people find out that I am in the nutrition field, I always get a ton of questions.

“What is the best way to lose weight?”

“How many calories should I be eating?”

“Have you ever heard of this ______, what are your thoughts on it?”

Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE talking about nutrition, and I love helping people out who have questions about their lifestyle, health and nutrition.

One of my favorite questions I get asked a lot is,

“What do you eat?”

My typical response is,

“Well I have some food intolerance’s, gluten and dairy, and I try to eat as many fruit, veggies, protein, healthy fats, and gluten free carbohydrates as possible!”

Then they ask,

“Well give me a specific list of foods and meals you eat and at what times.”

And this my friends is what I thought I would share with you today! I love eating and trying new foods, but on day to day bases I can be very plain, and I am not one to get bored with eating the same meal over and over. It drives my family nuts, but I honestly have been eating the same breakfast sense I was a freshman in college!

I personally feel when you have an intolerance this is normal, you know what works with your body each day and you think if you stray from this regiment, you will get sick.

On to the eating schedule!

Breakfast

  • 3 egg whites with 2 pieces of either turkey or chicken lunch meat made into an omelet
  • Some type of fruit (orange, apple, banana, or berries)
  • 2 rice cakes with peanut butter

13738133-a-healthy-breakfast-with-rice-cakes-peanut-butter-and-strawberries

Lunch

  • Salad with as many veggies pilled on as possible (cucumbers, tomatoes, celery, carrots), some type of meat (turkey sausage, turkey burger, tuna), fat-free Italian dressing, mozzarella cheese (this has very low lactose)
  • Apple or banana with peanut butter

OR

  • Veggie plate (cucumbers, tomatoes, celery, carrots), with a huge pile of hummus, turkey sausage and gluten free corn chips
  • Apple or banana with peanut butter

Veggie-Platter-with-Garlic-Hummus

Dinner

  • Chicken with a vegetable (okra, broccoli, peas, lima beans, or brussel sprouts), sweet potato

OR

  • Fish with corn chips and homemade salsa (black bean, diced tomatoes, corn, and onions)

OR

  • Turkey burgers with sweet potato fries and a vegetable (okra, broccoli, peas, lima beans, or brussel sprouts)

Oven-Baked-Sweet-Potato-Fries

Snacks

  • Apple with peanut butter
  • Popcorn with apple
  • Rice cakes with nutella

49105main_popcorn

Drinks

  • Water
  • Tea
  • Energy packets

 

Starting with breakfast, you can see that I consume a large breakfast, I typically workout in the morning and by eating a breakfast that has a good mixture of carbohydrates, protein and healthy fats, I can last through my workout and on till lunch.

Lunch I always try to eat a salad with veggies, this really fills me up and can allow me to last until dinner. I have a sweet tooth after lunch so by eating an apple with some peanut butter it controls this urge with something healthy!

Dinner is the only meal that B and I eat together and he will eat GF and LF as well. Those were just a few of the meals that I cook, dinner is typically when I experiment the most and try out new recipes, but always sticking to my guide of ½ plate of veggies, ¼ plate protein and ¼ GF carbohydrates.

I will typically only eat a snack after dinner, almost right before bed. I have pretty low blood sugar and by eating something right before I won’t wake up shaky and feeling sick.

In regards to the drinks, I am always drinking water, I have a huge water bottle that I carry with me everywhere I go and try to fill it up 2-3 times a day. In the morning is when I have my tea and after my workout I drink one of my energy packets!

waterJug

Well that is my basic day of eat, I know it would be boring for most, but it really works for me!

Your Turn

What does your day of eats look like?

What is the biggest meal of the day for you?

Do you eat 3 meals and a snack? 6 small meals?  3 meals and two snacks?

 

6 thoughts on “How I Eat and Why its So Boring!

    • It is so hard when it comes time for dinner to just eat carbohydrates. But I have learned that I feel so much better and I am must fuller after eating some good protein. If your vegetarian beans and rice always make a good dinner, that way you get the starch from the beans and rice but a great complete protein! And if your not vegetarian adding in some chicken or turkey sausage is also a great idea !

  1. Pingback: Four Squares of Awesome! | Positive Changes For Life

  2. Pingback: Post From the Past, Present and Future | Positive Changes For Life

  3. Pingback: Eating Our Way Through Our Mini Vacation! | Positive Changes For Life

  4. Pingback: Happy 1 Year PCFL!!! | Positive Changes For Life

Leave a Comment

