Run for Boston

Hi guys!

Yesterday still feels so surreal.

As I was waiting on B to get out of class my phone started to blow up with calls and text messages asking me if I was okay. I was very confused why I was getting these message. My mom was the first to contact me and told me some friends texted her asking if I was okay as well.

I stupidly wrote on Facebook…

Screen shot 2013-04-16 at 2.27.08 PMMany of my friends thought I was running. I have learned a very valuable lesson.

Be very specific in what I mean.

I was not in Boston. I was just very excited to watch the marathon on Monday.

After I assured my friends and family that I was safe in Ohio, I went for a run. A silent run to really understand what had just happened.

The marathon is my favorite distance. Sense January I have been in awe of the athletes who run 26.2 miles. Going to a marathon is so inspiring. I can’t even describe the feeling.

After seeing the footage on television my heart ached. I don’t understand how something could happen like this. Again it feels so surreal.

After running the marathon in January, I had decided right then and there that I would some day qualify for boston. I had been looking up plans, races, and paces online and research as much about the marathon. Yesterday hit me hard. It made me scared.

However, I am not scared. I will not le appreciating t yesterday deter me from my goal. I will get to Boston one day.

Today I am wearing my first race shirt ever. And thinking about how great the running community truly is.

5.5 miles was for Boston this morning.

 

One thought on “Run for Boston

  1. Pingback: Staying Strong | Positive Changes For Life

Leave a Comment

