Stretch it Out!

Morning all!

Did anyone do the workout yesterday? Did you change any of the exercises?

I think that I have mentioned this in a few recent posts, but I have been really sore lately  I use to be able to literally hop out of bed, change into my workout gear and start running. I never really thought that much about stretching or recovery.

When I ran the marathon in January, I hardly did anything after the run. I did some ice, because my knees hurt a little, but I can’t remember stretching, foam rolling, or any of the above.

Well now I am paying for it!

Running is my life and I need to make it a huge priority of mine to start stretching before or after a run or workout, and to have a better plan in place for race recovery. Right now with training for a 1/2 in May, I have started to really focus on the stretching after my run. This will help with prevention of injury as well as making my training runs not as painful!

Like many people who run, they typically have some type of training schedule. Well I have decided that I am making a stretching schedule. My type A personality will enjoy checking off each day, just like I do with my 1/2 training schedule.

Screen shot 2013-02-18 at 1.25.52 PM

Part of my training plan 🙂

So basically before every run, I will stretch out my calfs…

calf_stretch

 

I will do a stretch similar to this, but on the edge of the treadmill.

I will also stretch out my neck, rolling it back and forth, slowly.

Next I focus on stretching my whole legs…

H05 - Squatting Leg-out Adductor Stretch

 

or-single-leg-hamstring-stretch

 

Very similar stretches, I find these allow my body to loosen up without doing to much before the run. I was never a person who enjoyed doing to much before the run, and thus why my “stretching problem” is still not 100% 🙂

After a run or workout, I will do only one thing.

Tiger. Tail.

Screen shot 2013-03-13 at 10.45.21 AM

 

I feel this really works out the kinks, as I am rolling out my muscles, I will also do some of the stretches that I have mentioned above. One, stretch that I find that is really helping the most is, when I take a shower, I make sure the water is pretty hot and stretch in the shower. I know it sounds weird  but the combined heat allows my muscles to be more flexible, and thus allow for a great stretch.

Your Turn

What type of stretches do you do before your run or workout? 

I’m still working on my recovery from a race plan, what do you do after a race? 

One thought on “Stretch it Out!

  1. Pingback: Running… Why the Pain?! | Positive Changes For Life

Leave a Comment

