Wedding Edition: Bridesmaid dresses

Hello Hello!!

I realize I have not posted in a fair amount of days! I have a post planned later this afternoon/evening, but I wanted to write one also about my wedding! I love writing these posts, it brings me back to our day and allows me to appreciate everyone who made our day!

So, always a bridesmaid, never a bride? Let’s talk about the dresses I choose for my ladies in waiting ;)!

I wanted the girls to have a dress they would be comfortable in for hours, one that complimented them all, and a dress that made each one of them shine!

With the wedding taking place in December, I decided from the get go that I wanted long dresses. I also like this look, and feel when you look at pictures having long dresses completes the look. I am wearing a long dress, the guys are wearing pants, by having the girls in long dresses it allows the pictures to feel more complete.

This is totally my opinion!

So we started once again at Alfred Angelo, where I got my dress. I had looked online, gotten a few ideas and went to try them on!

Screen shot 2013-03-18 at 9.36.54 AM

Screen shot 2013-03-18 at 9.37.14 AM

Screen shot 2013-03-18 at 9.37.47 AM

Color wise, I wanted the girls to be elegant and sleek  Black, was the only option I felt would meet this criteria, I had a vision in my head, and we were getting closer to this image!

Before I show you what dress we picked, I want to explain a little bit about each of my bridesmaids!

Maid of Honor 

IMG_0873Meredith is my younger sister by 18 months. It was an obvious choice from the moment I got engaged that she would be my maid of honor. We are total oposites, but she is my best friend. She was an amazing maid of honor and made wedding prep amazing!

Bridesmaids 

IMG_0616

Lydia is my other younger sister by 5 years. We are super close, even though we have many years between us. She has a much older personality and I think this is why we are able to be so close. We had so much fun wedding planning and becoming closer!

IMG_0985Lindsey is B’s cousin. They are really close, they lived together for a bit, and have always been close growing up. I met Lindsey when we first started dating, she is the sweetest, kindest person you will ever meet! We wanted to keep our wedding party all family, and Lindsey was the perfect bridesmaid.

So back to the dresses! Lindsey lives in D.C. so she was not able to come to the actual fittings, so we had Meredith and Lydia try on dresses. It did not take long until we found the one!

Sweetheart neckline, a gathering of fabric at the waist, long, and pockets! It was perfect!! I feel in love with the dress the moment the girls tried it on. I was also happy that they were able to sew in straps to be more comfortable for the party and dancing!

See the pockets!

See the pockets!

I let the girls choose the shoes they wanted, my sisters are pretty tall so they had on simple black ballet flats, and Lindsey had about 3 inch heels, sense she was little shorter. I also allowed the girls to choose how they wanted their hair. I love when Meredith curled her hair and pulled it to the side, and Lydia did her hair like she did for her junior prom. It all worked out really great!

The make-up was the best part! Meredith is an amazing artist, so make-up is second nature to her. I loved that she did all of our make-up, making us look natural, but elegant all at the same time.

IMG_0443

IMG_0782 IMG_0783 IMG_0784 IMG_0785 IMG_0787 IMG_0788 IMG_0789 IMG_0790 I loved everything about how the girls looked. They all looked radient and beautiful! I will talk more about their jewelry in the gift post!

IMG_0545e___________________________________________________________________________________

Your Turn! 

What did your bridesmaid dresses look like?

Did you let them choose their hair?

Who did your make-up?

5 thoughts on “Wedding Edition: Bridesmaid dresses

  1. Cute, cute cute! 🙂

    The girls all got the same color but I let them all pick their style (I did ask for all cocktail length though).

    They chose their own hair, jewelry, and shoes.

    I did my own makeup and one of my bridesmaids did my hair. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Stuffed Peppers | Positive Changes For Life

  3. Pingback: Wedding Edition: Location, Location, Location! | Positive Changes For Life

Leave a Comment

